Meeting of the Advisory Board focussing on „Fisch marking and telemetry“ with Finn Økland

Second meeting of the Advisory board of "wanderfische ohne grenzen" has taken place!

On 13th and 14th of September 2016 the Advisory Board of the association met in Siegburg on River Sieg.

Hubert Linden, chairman of  „Fischschutzverein Siegburg 1910 e.V.“,  gave a very warm personal welcome to the participants of the convention to the club house of his association. The club house is located in direct vicinity of the control station "Buisdorf" with the highest number of returning salmon in Germany since 1990.  

Main subject of the meeting was "Fish marking and telemetry".

Norwegian fish scientist Finn Økland of the independent NINA Institute (Norwegian Institute for Nature Research) shared his excellent knowledge and his wide scope of experience of around 200 realized projects.

The experts from Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands who attended the meeting presented the latest numbers of their Migratory Fishes Projects and their activities in fish marking and telemetry.

The meeting was characterized by the intensive and high-quality exchange of experience between the projects and with Finn Økland.

Together with the Migratory Fishes Projects of the different regions "Wanderfische ohne Grenzen - NASF Germany" will continue to develop the transfer of information in the field of fish marking and telemetry across the entire habitat of the migratory species.

The foundation for such a network has been laid by the participants of this meeting and last years meeting of the Advisory Board.

Armin Nemitz, fish biologist of the "Rheinischer Fischereiverband" completed the program of the convention with a guided tour to the "Wildlachszentrum" at the lake "Wahnbachtalsperre" and the "Wissenshaus Wanderfische" in Siegburg, a public information center for migratory fish species that will be opened soon.

Many thanks to Armin Nemitz for letting us have a detailed look into his excellent work and for his great hospitality.

Interesting reports on single subjects of the convention will follow soon.



Finn Økland                    Norwegian Institute for Nature Research (NINA)

Armin Nemitz                 Rheinischer Fischereiverband / Wanderfischprogramm NRW

Martin Purps                   Landessportfischerverband Schleswig-Holstein

Jan Reubens                   Ghent University / Belgium

Pieterjan Verhelst           Ghent University / Belgium

Carsten Nolting              LFV Westfalen und Lippe e.V

Dr. Christoph Petereit    Geomar Kiel

Stefan Jäger                   Ruhrfischereigenossenschaft

Winfried Klein                IG Lahn e.V. / Verband Hessischer Fischer e.V.

Ulrich Thiel                    Landesanglerverband Brandenburg

Reinhart Sosat               Landesfischereiverband Baden Württemberg / Wanderfische BW gGmbH

André de Breukelaar     Ministry of Infrastructure and Environment / Netherlands

Dr. Maxim Teichert        Universität Köln

Dr. Jens Salva                 LFV Weser-EMS

Armin Weinbrenner       Wanderfische ohne Grenzen e.V.

Stefan Ludwig                Wanderfische ohne Grenzen e.V. / Aller Oker Lachsgemeinschaft